Poll: Are you planning to vote in IFComp 2015?

(Inspired by last year’s poll.)

• Yes, I’m a judge and I’ve already rated at least 5 games.
  • Yes, I’m a judge and I plan to rate 5 games by November 15th.
  • Yes, I’m an author and I’m voting in the Miss Congeniality contest.
  • Maybe.
  • No.

0 voters

Nope. I’ve been boycotting the comp for several years now since they introduced the new updates rule. I might play some of the games after the comp has ended, but I won’t be voting on them.

I won’t be voting either. That’s too much pressure, especially given that updates are allowed… though I wouldn’t have voted even when they weren’t. In order to vote fairly, I’d have to play all the games (that’s a self-imposed restriction, though), and I don’t have the time. I like to enjoy the games in my own time, at my own pace.

Plus, a post-comp release may come along in the meantime.

Honestly, I played the very, very first version of Marco’s Andromeda game in that year’s comp. It got subsequent updates, and that left a bitter taste in my mouth. Like I’d played a rushed version that didn’t reflect what the author wanted, and which the author very quickly disowned.

I don’t want to get into another rendition of “why I feel updates ruined the IFComp”, but that pretty much sums it up for me. As long as I know a game is likely to get updated sometime during the comp, I have zero interest in playing it. I don’t want to run into bugs, bang my head against unfair puzzles, become stuck… and then find that a week later the author has released an update which fixes all of those issues. Particularly not during the voting period for a comp. Any score I gave to a game would be moot considering that whatever issues I had with the game might well be fixed by the time the comp deadline rolls around.

I’d sooner just wait till the comp is over and the final version of the games have been released and then play them.

I’m impressed that someone has already rated five games!