Enigma (IFComp 2014)

(I should say first that I thought this was going to be an English translation of the well-known Italian inform game “Enigma”. I was rather disappointed that it wasn’t, but then I started playing it and I got hooked!)

(Also: heavy spoilers. Be warned)

For some reason I managed to, until this very moment, mistake Simon Deimel (author of this game) and Simon Christiansen, author of Death Off the Cuff. I think I can be excused for that - both games rely heavily on unconventional IF interactions, mostly dealing with abstract topics; most games in IF deal with the material world to such a heavy degree that occasionally some game makers want to go against the current and make a game that deals almost exclusively with the abstract. The “lock and key” puzzle is replaced by you having to understand, in your mind, what the door is, and what the key is, and when you do it becomes obvious how to proceed, because you built up the knowledge.

This is not to be confused with the accretive gameplay of Varicella, or even Rematch; rather, like the French game “Escape Room”, you spend the whole game managing memories and thoughts rather than actual objects. Nothing in the physical world will change, except for your perception of it, and eventually you’ll arrive at the solution that, in the specific case of “Escape Room”, you could just type as the very first move and you’ll win the game.

Verbosity aside, I find this amazingly cool. It’s one of those ways in which IF remains fresh.