IF Competition 2014

It’s comp time!

The Games of the 2014 IFComp

I have not yet played them or even looked at the titles. If you have, and you want to discuss them in spoilery ways… well, hmm. I’m new to Discourse. Is it better to create a separate thread for each one? Let’s give that a try.

I’ve played Zest and started a thread in the Spoilers section about it, and will be posting more as I go through more of the comp games. Feel free to start additional threads there for spoilery discussion of the others, or maybe use this thread for non-spoilery discussion.

Well, I think I’d like to say something non-spoilery, and forgive my frankness, but I feel I should bring it up. I hope I don’t offend anyway here who’s participated in the IFComp, past or present (or future!).

Why is it that far more games than you’d think allowable look like they’re written by people who never wrote IF before?

Ok, ok, it’s a loaded question, and I know the answer, really: because IFComp is THE place to showcase your new game, the place to make a splash, the one way to make sure your game will be played. It’s highly visible, and it’s made to encourage newcomers. The two-hour rule even ensures these newcomers will be able to come up with some quality stuff, because they don’t have to make a huge sprawling world. They can keep it small and still be praised and noted for a great game.

Also, there are veterans taking part too, occasionally.

And all of this makes for a beautiful, welcoming Comp that I wouldn’t have any other way, it’s the most visible IF event right now and the one that brings in the crowds, such as they are.