Poll: Are you voting in the IF Comp?

I just learned Discourse has a poll feature, so let’s try it out!

• Yes, I’ve already rated at least 5 games
  • Yes, I plan to rate 5 games by November 15th
  • No

0 voters

I’m an author-entrant so am I voting (Miss Congeniality) or not (Judging)? I ticked YES, but I’m not so sure.

Good point. Looks like I can’t add or remove poll options, so let’s say Miss Congeniality counts as voting.

1 Like

I voted yes. I’ll expound 11/16, because reasons.

How much effort do you generally put into playing a comp game before it seems fair to vote on it? I know there’s no rule that you have to finish a game before voting on it, but I’m curious about what approaches others take. (I was starting a new topic but the forum told me it was similar to this one, so I put it here.)

I’ve tried to finish each game when finishing it is quantifiable. One game had achievements, so I replayed several times to get them all. When it’s not obvious how much more there is to do, it’s a judgment call: the game I played last night probably had another ending, but I didn’t care enough to find it. In another game, at the two hour mark I still hadn’t finished and it seemed like there might be a lot more, so I rated it and saved to pick it up later.

If I’m enjoying a game I’ll usually try to finish. I know I’m suppose to stop strictly after two hours, but if I’m deeply engrossed in the game, let’s just say I’m not paying scrupulous attention to the clock (shh; don’t tell.)